

MEDIA RELEASE

For Immediate Release

11 January 2013

David Gonski AC becomes a Patron of the Australian Indigenous Education Foundation

One of Australia's most respected businessmen and civic leaders, David Gonski AC, has become a Patron of the Australian Indigenous Education Foundation (AIEF).

Mr Gonski joins AIEF Patrons Her Excellency Professor Marie Bashir AC CVO, Governor of New South Wales, and the Hon Sir William Deane AC KBE to support the Foundation in its mission to empower Indigenous students through quality education and careers to create a brighter future for themselves and for our nation.

Mr Gonski is currently the Chancellor of The University of New South Wales, Chairman of the Guardians of the Future Fund, the Sydney Theatre Company, Investec Bank (Australia) Limited, Coca-Cola Amatil and Ingeus Ltd. and a Director of Infrastructure NSW. He also headed the federal government inquiry into the future of school funding and is a leading figure in philanthropy and the Australian arts community.

AIEF CEO Andrew Penfold said Mr Gonski's appointment is a tremendous honour for AIEF. "Mr Gonski is quite simply one of the most admired, respected and influential leaders in the nation with extensive networks across business, philanthropy, politics, media and civic society, and he has been an inspiring mentor for our work. He is a long standing supporter of AIEF's work and passionate about education, and it is a great honour that he has accepted to be a Patron of our organisation."

"AIEF is privileged to have the support of three distinguished Patrons that have outstanding trackrecords of leadership and community service and who are highly respected members of the Australian community. Through their own examples, they represent strong and positive role models for AIEF and those that AIEF engages with," said Mr Penfold.

Mr Gonski said, "I thought about it a lot and I am very complimented to be asked to be a Patron of AIEF. I have enormous respect for what it has achieved and truly believe in the important work it does."

ends –

For more information contact:
Andrew Penfold | P 02 8373 8088 | M 0412 667 793



About AIEF | www.aief.com.au

The Australian Indigenous Education Foundation (AIEF) is a private sector led, non-profit organisation focused on empowering Indigenous children in financial need to build a future through quality education and careers. A product of strong partnership between the Australian Government and the private sector, AIEF has set up a \$44million fund to open the doors to leading schools and universities for young Indigenous Australians.

We believe that marginalised Indigenous children should have access to some of Australia's best educational opportunities and pursue productive and fulfilling careers. That is why we provide scholarships to attend boarding schools and residential university colleges and offer intensive career support, equipping students with the tools to unlock their potential and pursue their dreams.

We work with hard heads, soft hearts and capable hands, setting the benchmark in good governance, transparent and evidence-based reporting and producing tangible results.

AIEF People

AIEF is under the Patronage of some of Australia's most respected civic leaders and is managed and governed by Indigenous and non-Indigenous individuals with proven track-records in the private sector.

AIEF Patrons:

Her Excellency Professor Marie Bashir AC CVO, Governor of New South Wales (Patron-in-Chief) Sir William Deane AC KBE David Gonski AC

AIEF Board of Directors:

Ann Sherry AO (Chair) Warren Mundine
Andrew Penfold (Chief Executive) Michael Lindsay
Rob Coombe

AIEF Ambassadors:

Janet Albrechtsen	Geoff Dixon	Alan Joyce	Heather Ridout
Mark Arbib	Tom Drake-Brockman	Katie Lahey	Michael Rose
Stephanie Brantz	John Eales AM	Tristan Landers	John Schaffer
Associate Professor Ngiare	Dr Peter Farrell AM	Kirsten Lynn	Nora Scheinkestel
Brown	Andrew Forrest	Paulo Maia	Professor Julianne
The Hon Linda Burney MP	Nicola Forrest	Peter Mason AM	Schultz AM
Jennifer Byrne	Adriana Gardos	David Mortimer AO	Jillian Segal AM
Liz Cacciottolo	Danny Gilbert	David Murray AO	Mary Shaw
Kerry Chikarovski	Caroline Gurney	lan Narev	Geoff Walsh AO
Brett Clegg	Steve Harker	Ralph Norris	Geoff Wilson
Greg Cooper	John Hartigan	John O'Sullivan	Nikki Williams
Bruce Corlett	Matthew Hayden AM	James Paterson	Frank Zipfinger
Patricia Cross	Janie Hicks	Guy Reynolds AM	
Charles Curran AC	Greg Hutchinson	Aden Ridgeway	



AIEF's Partner Schools and Colleges

New South Wales

- Cranbrook School (Boys)
- Kincoppal-Rose Bay School of the Sacred Heart (Girls)
- Loreto Normanhurst (Girls)
- Presbyterian Ladies' College, Sydney (Girls)
- Pymble Ladies' College (Girls)
- Shalom College, The University of New South Wales (Co-Ed)
- St Catherine's School, Waverley (Girls)
- St Gregory's College Campbelltown (Boys)
- Saint Ignatius' College, Riverview (Boys)
- St Scholastica's College (Girls)
- St Vincent's College, Potts Point (Girls)
- The Armidale School (Boys)
- The Scots College (Boys)
- The Scots School Albury (Co-Ed)

Queensland

- Brisbane Boys' College (Boys)
- Clayfield College (Girls)
- Ipswich Grammar School (Boys)
- Marist College Ashgrove (Boys)
- St Augustine's College (Boys)
- St Joseph's Nudgee College (Boys)
- St Peters Lutheran College (Co-Ed)
- St Saviour's College (Girls)
- The Cathedral School (Co-Ed)
- The Toowoomba Preparatory School (Co-Ed)
- Townsville Grammar School (Co-Ed)

Western Australia

- Aquinas College (Boys)
- La Salle College (Co-Ed)
- Presbyterian Ladies' College, Perth (Girls)
- Scotch College (Boys)
- St Brigid's College (Girls)
- Trinity College (Boys)