

MEDIA RELEASE

For Immediate Release

26 November 2013

Warren Mundine elected new AIEF Chair

Warren Mundine has been elected Chair of the Australian Indigenous Education Foundation (AIEF) following the resignation of Ann Sherry AO at a board meeting in Sydney on Monday.

The AIEF board and executive team said they were delighted Mr Mundine had agreed to Chair AIEF as it progressed towards an increased funding target of \$140 million, which will help educate 7,000 Indigenous students at some of Australia's leading schools and universities and support their transition into meaningful careers.

Ann Sherry AO stepped down after a year as Chair and five years as a member of the AIEF board due to a significant expansion of her responsibilities as CEO of Carnival Australia. During Ms Sherry's tenure AIEF continued its rapid growth, mounting a national marketing campaign to announce its new \$140 million funding target.

"I have been proud to serve AIEF over the past few years and I will continue to support its mission to empower Indigenous children to build a brighter future for themselves and for the nation," Ms Sherry said.

The AIEF board thanked Ms Sherry for her substantial contribution to the success of AIEF during her period of stewardship. Ms Sherry will continue as an Ambassador for AIEF.

New Chair Warren Mundine said he was "looking forward to continuing the excellent work of former Chairs Ray Martin AM and Ann Sherry AO in the years to come."

- ends -

For more information contact:
Andrew Penfold | P 02 8373 8088 | M 0412 667 793



About AIEF | www.aief.com.au

The Australian Indigenous Education Foundation (AIEF) is a private sector led, non-profit organisation focused on empowering Indigenous children in financial need to build a future through quality education and career pathways at Australia's leading schools, universities and companies. A product of strong partnership between the Australian Government and the private sector, AIEF is building a \$140 million fund to open the doors to leading schools and universities for 7,000 young Indigenous Australians.

AIEF believes that marginalised Indigenous children should have access to some of Australia's best educational opportunities and pursue productive and fulfilling careers. That is why AIEF provides scholarships to boarding schools and residential university colleges through the AIEF Scholarship Program, while the AIEF Pathways Program, offers intensive career support to equip students with the tools to unlock their potential and pursue their dreams.

We work with hard heads, soft hearts and capable hands, setting the benchmark in good governance, transparent and evidence-based reporting and producing tangible results.

AIEF People

AIEF is under the Patronage of some of Australia's most respected civic leaders and is managed and governed by Indigenous and non-Indigenous individuals with proven track-records in the private sector.

AIEF Patrons:

Her Excellency, Professor Marie Bashir AC CVO, Governor of New South Wales (Patron-in-Chief) Sir William Deane AC KBE David Gonski AC

AIEF Board of Directors:

Warren Mundine (Chair) Michael Lindsay
Andrew Penfold (Chief Executive) Rob Coombe

AIEF Ambassadors:

Janet Albrechtsen	Tom Drake-Brockman	Alan Joyce	Michael Rose
Mark Arbib	John Eales AM	Alan Kohler	John Schaffer
Stephanie Brantz	Dr Peter Farrell AM	Tristan Landers	Dr Nora Scheinkestel
Jennifer Byrne	Andrew Forrest	Peter Mason AM	Professor Julianne
Liz Cacciottolo	Nicola Forrest	Helen McCabe	Schultz AM
Kerry Chikarovski	Adriana Gardos	David Mortimer AO	Jillian Segal AM
Brett Clegg	Danny Gilbert	David Murray AO	Mary Shaw
Greg Cooper	Caroline Gurney	Ian Narev	Ann Sherry AO
Bruce Corlett	Steve Harker	Ralph Norris	Geoff Walsh AO
Patricia Cross	John Hartigan	John O'Sullivan	Geoff Wilson
Tony Cripps	Matthew Hayden AM	James Paterson	Dr Nikki Williams
Charles Curran AC	Janie Hicks	Guy Reynolds AM	Frank Zipfinger
Geoff Dixon	Dr Philip Home	Aden Ridgeway	



AIEF's Partner Schools and Colleges

New South Wales

- Cranbrook School (Boys)
- Kincoppal-Rose Bay School of the Sacred Heart (Girls)
- Knox Grammar School (Boys)
- Loreto Normanhurst (Girls)
- Presbyterian Ladies' College, Sydney (Girls)
- Pymble Ladies' College (Girls)
- Shalom College, The University of New South Wales (Co-Ed)
- St Catherine's School, Waverley (Girls)
- St Gregory's College Campbelltown (Boys)
- St Ignatius' College, Riverview (Boys)
- St Scholastica's College (Girls)
- St Vincent's College, Potts Point (Girls)
- The Armidale School (Boys)
- The Scots College (Boys)
- The Scots School Albury (Co-Ed)

Victoria

Melbourne Grammar School (Boys)

Queensland

- Anglican Church Grammar School (Boys)
- Brisbane Boys' College (Boys)
- Clayfield College (Girls)
- Ipswich Grammar School (Boys)
- Marist College Ashgrove (Boys)
- St Augustine's College (Boys)
- St Joseph's Nudgee College (Boys)
- St Peters Lutheran College (Co-Ed)
- St Saviour's College (Girls)
- The Cathedral School (Co-Ed)
- The Toowoomba Preparatory School (Co-Ed)
- Townsville Grammar School (Co-Ed)

Western Australia

- Aquinas College (Boys)
- La Salle College (Co-Ed)
- Presbyterian Ladies' College, Perth (Girls)
- Scotch College (Boys)
- Trinity College (Boys)
- Wesley College, South Perth (Boys)