

MEDIA RELEASE

For Immediate Release

1 October 2014

AIEF announces Governor-General as Patron-in-Chief

The Australian Indigenous Education Foundation (AIEF) has today announced the Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd), as its new Patron-in-Chief.

Sir Peter has accepted the role from Her Excellency Professor the Honourable Dame Marie Bashir AD CVO, who served as AIEF Patron-in-Chief during her term as Governor of New South Wales.

Dame Marie will continue to serve as a Patron of AIEF alongside The Honourable Sir William Deane AC KBE and Mr David Gonski AC.

Before becoming Australia's 26th Governor-General in March 2014, Sir Peter had a long and distinguished military career, culminating in his promotion to General and Chief of the Australian Defence Force from 2002 to 2005.

His subsequent civilian career included roles on the boards of Qantas, Cardno and the Australian Rugby Union; Chair of the Council of the Australian War Memorial from 2007 to 2012; and Chancellor of the Australian Catholic University from 2010 until early 2014.

AIEF CEO Andrew Penfold AM said the Governor-General's support was a tremendous honour for AIEF.

"The Australian Indigenous Education Foundation is honoured to welcome the Governor-General, Sir Peter Cosgrove, as our new Patron-in-Chief," Mr Penfold said.

"In a few short years, AIEF has grown from an idea into a great success and this has been driven by the imprimatur, support and advocacy of some of Australia's most respected community leaders, including Her Excellency Professor the Honourable Dame Marie Bashir AD CVO, The Honourable Sir William Deane AC KBE, Mr David Gonski AC and the late Mr Carlo Salteri AC.

"In the years to come, the support of our Patron-in-Chief and Patrons will be invaluable as we strive to raise \$140 million to help educate 7,000 Indigenous students and support their transition into meaningful careers."

- ends -

For more information contact: Andrew Penfold AM | P 02 8373 8088 | M 0412 667 793



About AIEF | www.aief.com.au

The Australian Indigenous Education Foundation (AIEF) is a private sector led, non-profit organisation focused on empowering Indigenous children in financial need to build a future through quality education and career pathways at Australia's leading schools, universities and companies. A product of strong partnership between the Australian Government and the private sector, AIEF is building a \$140 million fund to open the doors to leading schools and universities for 7,000 young Indigenous Australians.

AIEF believes that marginalised Indigenous children should have access to some of Australia's best educational opportunities and pursue productive and fulfilling careers. That is why AIEF provides scholarships at leading schools and tertiary residential colleges through the *AIEF Scholarship Program*, while the *AIEF Pathways Program* offers intensive career support to equip students with the tools to unlock their potential and pursue their dreams.

We work with hard heads, soft hearts and capable hands, setting the benchmark in good governance, transparent and evidence-based reporting and producing tangible results.

AIEF People

AIEF is under the Patronage of some of Australia's most respected civic leaders and is managed and governed by Indigenous and non-Indigenous individuals with proven track-records in the private sector.

AIEF Patrons

His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd), Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia (Patron-in-Chief) Her Excellency Professor The Honourable Dame Marie Bashir AD CVO, Governor of New South Wales Sir William Deane AC KBE

David Gonski AC

AIEF Board of Directors

Warren Mundine (Chair) Michael Lindsay Andrew Penfold AM (Chief Executive) Rob Coombe Carlie Smart

AIEF Ambassadors

Janet Albrechtsen Mark Arbib	Tom Drake-Brockman John Eales AM	Greg Hughes Alan Joyce	James Paterson Guy Reynolds AM
Stephanie Brantz	Dr Peter Farrell AM	Alan Kohler	Aden Ridgeway
Jennifer Byrne	Andrew Forrest	Tristan Landers	Michael Rose
Liz Cacciottolo	Nicola Forrest	Craig Laslett	John Schaffer
Kerry Chikarovski	Adriana Gardos	Peter Mason AM	Dr Nora Scheinkestel
Brett Clegg	Danny Gilbert	Helen McCabe	Jillian Segal AM
Greg Cooper	Caroline Gurney	David Mortimer AO	Mary Shaw
Bruce Corlett	Steve Harker	David Murray AO	Ann Sherry AO
Patricia Cross	John Hartigan	lan Narev	Geoff Walsh AO
Tony Cripps	Matthew Hayden AM	Peter Nash	Geoff Wilson
Charles Curran AC	Janie Hicks	Ralph Norris	Dr Nikki Williams
Geoff Dixon	Dr Philip Home	John O'Sullivan	Frank Zipfinger



AIEF Educational Partners

New South Wales

- Cranbrook School (Boys)
- Kincoppal-Rose Bay School of the Sacred Heart (Girls)
- Knox Grammar School (Boys)
- Loreto Normanhurst (Girls)
- Presbyterian Ladies' College, Sydney (Girls)
- Pymble Ladies' College (Girls)
- Shalom College, The University of New South Wales (Co-Ed)
- St Catherine's School, Waverley (Girls)
- St Gregory's College Campbelltown (Boys)
- St Ignatius' College, Riverview (Boys)
- St Scholastica's College (Girls)
- St Vincent's College, Potts Point (Girls)
- The Armidale School (Boys)
- The Scots College (Boys)

Victoria

- Melbourne Grammar School (Boys)
- Scotch College, Melbourne (Boys)

Queensland

- Brisbane Boys' College (Boys)
- Clayfield College (Girls)
- Emmanuel College (Co-Ed)
- Ipswich Girls' Grammar School (Girls)
- Ipswich Grammar School (Boys)
- Marist College Ashgrove (Boys)
- St Augustine's College (Boys)
- St Joseph's Nudgee College (Boys)
- St Peters Lutheran College (Co-Ed)
- St Saviour's College (Girls)
- The Cathedral School (Co-Ed)
- Toowoomba Anglican College and Preparatory School (Co-Ed)
- Townsville Grammar School (Co-Ed)

Western Australia

- Aquinas College (Boys)
- La Salle College (Co-Ed)
- Presbyterian Ladies' College, Perth (Girls)
- Scotch College (Boys)
- Trinity College (Boys)
- Wesley College, South Perth (Boys)